• The Trophy

    The Walter Lawrence Trophy
    The Walter Lawrence Trophy

    The Walter Lawrence Trophy was instigated in 1934. It is awarded at the end of each English cricket season to the batsman who scores the fastest century from the fewest balls received, (excluding wides). Centuries scored in The Hundred, Vitality Blast (20-over format), Royal London Cup (50-over format) and the LV= Insurance County Championship, all qualify as well as Test Matches, One-Day International matches and International T20 matches played in England. There is a panel of adjudicators to ensure that each potential award-winning century is made against authentic bowling.

    In 1996 it was decided to exclude University games from the Trophy itself. With the establishment of the MCC University Centres of Excellence, it was decided to introduce an award for the highest score by a University batsman in the MCC Universities matches played against each other or the first-class Counties, this also includes the Varsity match.

    In 2011 the trustees of the Walter Lawrence Trophy launched a new award for the highest schools’ scorer against MCC, and in 2012 added a fourth award, for the batsman who makes the highest individual score in a season from The Hundred, Charlotte Edwards Cup (20-over format), Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy (50-over format), and all England Women’s matches played on home soil.