• 2020 – J M Clarke

    Joe Clarke

    Joe Clarke

    Joe Clarke of Nottinghamshire Outlaws won the 2020 Walter Lawrence Trophy with a blazing 44-ball hundred scored in the 2020 Vitality Blast match against Durham on August 29.

    Chasing a total of 182, the 24-year-old was dropped on 8 before sharing a second-wicket stand of 105 and finishing with an unbeaten 100 to see his side home with 28 balls to spare. His innings, which included 7 fours and 8 sixes, was only the fourth T20 hundred scored by a Notts Outlaw. Reflecting on the century, his second against Durham, Clarke said: ‘The mentality was from ball-one to put pressure on the bowlers. Getting a T20 hundred is special and to then get another one is very special’. The Nottinghamshire side went on to win the Vitality Blast Final at a rain-soaked Edgbaston on October 4, with Clarke their leading scorer in the campaign, compiling 371 runs at an average of 37.10.

    Clarke was born in Shrewsbury and started his cricket career with Shropshire before joining the Worcestershire Academy and the England Under-19s. He made his first-class debut for Worcestershire against Hampshire at Southampton in 2015 and, in the same year, was called up for England Lions for their tour against Pakistan A in Dubai, where he became the first teenage debutant since Joe Root.

    After successful seasons at Worcestershire, where he scored 12 Championship hundreds, the ambitious and highly talented batsman and wicket-keeper was snapped up by Nottinghamshire in 2018.

    Joe becomes the seventh Nottinghamshire player to win the Walter Lawrence Trophy, now in its 86th year, joining Joe Hardstaff in 1937, Cyril Poole (1949), Garfield Sobers (1968 and 1974), Paul Johnson (1993), Chris Cairns (1995) and Mark Ealham (2006).

    Durham v Nottinghamshire scorecard

    Joe Clarke’s career statistics

    back to Hall of Fame