• Walter Lawrence Award For Women’s Cricket

    Posted on February 21st, 2012

    This season the trustees of the Walter Lawrence Trophy, supported by Veuve Clicquot, are delighted to announce the launch of a new award for the women’s game.

    The award will go to the batsman who makes the highest individual score in a season from the ECB Women’s County Championship, the ECB Women’s County T20 Cup and all England Women’s matches played on home soil. The winner will receive a cheque for £1,000 as well as an engraved silver medallion and an invitation to the Walter Lawrence Trophy end-of-season presentation dinner in the Long Room at Lord’s.

    Former England captain Clare Connor, the ECB’s Head of England Women’s Cricket, declared that she was thrilled at the introduction of the new Walter Lawrence Trophy Award, and its support of the women’s game.

    This new initiative completes a quartet of Walter Lawrence Trophy awards, supported by Veuve Clicquot, which encompass four distinct areas of the game. The Walter Lawrence Trophy, now in its 78th year, for the fastest century of the season, was won last year by Gloucestershire’s Kevin O’Brien, who blasted a 44-ball hundred against Middlesex on June 26 in the Friends Life t20 South Group match at Uxbridge. Last year’s winner of the Walter Lawrence MCC Universities Award for the highest-scoring batsman from the six MCC Universities was Durham’s Chris Jones, who recorded a monumental 252 not out in the MCCU Championship match against Oxford at The Parks on April 22. Finally, our inaugural winner of the Walter Lawrence Schools Award launched last season for the highest score by a school batsman against MCC, was Stuart Parsons of Reading School, who scored an unbeaten 212 out of his side’s total of 300 for 1.