• Presentations

    2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 |

    2002 Presentation Dinner at Lord’s

    Matthew Fleming, winner of the Walter Lawrence Trophy in the 2002 season, collected the Trophy and cheque for £5,000 at a glittering dinner in the Long Room at Lord’s on 1st October. The dinner, which was attended by several past winners of the award and many of the great and the good from the cricket world, also marked the end of Matthew Fleming’s cricket career after 14 seasons.

    On receiving the Trophy from Mark Lawrence of Aon, supporters of the award, Fleming could not resist poking fun at his own career and his winning 66-ball century. Referring to his hat-trick of Benson and Hedges Cup final defeats while Captain of Kent, he said:

    “How refreshing to be here at Lord’s and collecting a trophy after three failed attempts.

    I must also propose a vote of thanks to the Sri Lankans, whose hands were so cold back in April at the St Lawrence Ground that they were reluctant to take them out of their pockets.

    It’s also a privilege for me to follow in the footsteps of former Kent winners of this famous award: Frank Woolley, Les Ames, Asif Iqbal, Alan Knott and Carl Hooper and now – Matthew Fleming – five legends of the game and a trier!”

    Also attending the dinner were Mark and Jo Ashbourne, who were the winners of the Walter Lawrence Trophy competition run by The Cricketer International magazine.

    Click here to view the journalists’ predictions

    Mark Lawrence, Matthew Fleming, Dennis Silk

    Mark Lawrence, Matthew Fleming
    and Dennis Silk

    Roland Butcher, Matthew Fleming, Ted Dexter, Colin Griffiths

    Roland Butcher, Matthew Fleming, Ted Dexter and Colin Griffiths


    2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 |